Rhapsodic

rhapsody_logo.gifAs I’ve observed elsewhere, I don’t exactly live on the bleeding edge.  That said, I am not new to the world of online music services, whether it’s a radio station streaming live, audio archives of a favorite program, Hearts of Space, StillStream, or MSN Radio (now Pandora).  The kids are all on iTunes – so am I, but I am without a digital music player.

I came across Rhapshody a few weeks ago (I know, I don’t get out much); the twenty-five free plays got my attention – much better than the snippets you get on iTunes or Amazon.  Used up almost all of my free plays the other night, though, just cruising around.  In alphabetical order:

  • Cheap Trick
    • Gonna Raise Hell
    • Ain’t That a Shame
  • Dave Matthews Band
    • Ants Marching
  • Electric Light Orchestra
    • Fire on High
  • Emerson, Lake & Palmer
    • Fanfare for the Common Man/Blue Rondo a la Turk
  • Jean Michel Jarre
    • Oxygène (forget which one, though)
  • John Rutter
    • (don’t remember which one)
  • Larry Fast/SYNERGY
    • Relay Breakdown
  • Maynard Ferguson
    • MacArthur Park
  • The Fabulous Thunderbirds
    • Tuff Enuff
    • Wrap It Up
  • William Orbit
    • Silent Signals

Listening to some old favorites and finding new and interesting things really appeals to my inner musical omnivore.  Maynard Ferguson’s “MacArthur Park” from M.F. Horn I practically brought tears to my eyes.  And ELP’s riff on and incorporation of Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor after the 19:00 mark of “Fanfare/Blue Rondo?”  Copland, Brubeck, and Bach all in one place:  Wow.  Too much fun.

2 thoughts on “Rhapsodic

  1. I have been using emusic.com for about a year and have found it to be a great way to discover artists, though not particularly useful for collecting music from well-known ones (since emusic mostly features small indie labels). The best part, though, is that the music is all DRM-free and in MP3 format, so you don’t have to jump through hoops in order to do whatever you want with the files.

  2. Pingback: Connections « Rummaging About

Leave a Reply

