It’s What Was Next

Of course it’s no longer news that George Carlin died yesterday.  I saw him in concert once when I was in college.  At the time I found his comedy really amusing, the play with words, the willingness to question things no one else would.  Listening to interviews with him years later I came to have a better appreciation for the principles behind his comedy, and I’m glad I did.

Always do what’s next – – George Carlin, 1937-2008

One thought on “It’s What Was Next

  1. It’s a sad day indeed. I’m reminded of something George said;

    “If it’s true that our species is alone in the universe, then I’d have to say that the universe aimed rather low and settled for very little.”

    And our species is further diminished today, by the loss of the “Great One.”

    George was both a blessing and a curse, to those who knew and loved him. To the rest of us, he was a sage, a man filled with insight, and the backbone to “stick it to the man” every chance he got.

    I couldn’t think of anything else, today. It’s like a cold, dark cloud entered my study, and lingered. You can read my thoughts here;

    http://renaissanceronin.wordpress.com/2008/06/23/keep-thy-religion-to-thyself-george-carlin/

    I always thought that if Keith Richards could hang with us, old George would be around to welcome Jesus back…

    71 was much too young. We’ll miss him.

Leave a Reply

