Riding the Crazy Train

Yeah, well, for those of you expecting a tribute to Ozzy Osbourne:  Sorry. This has more to do with the regularly scheduled departure of our family’s overbooked, out of control calendar express than any kind of heavy metal. That said, it’s about this time of year I feel like biting the head off something, so I guess there’s a little bit of a connection there.

Please forgive me for whining, and it’s not like there aren’t other times of year when things seem to spin a little out of control, and I am (or at least I try to be) mindful of how fortunate we are to be able to have so much going on and, yes, I know it’s largely self-inflicted, but, still, I’ve never liked feeling like I’m being pulled in sixty-eight different directions at once. Work, kids, school, work, kids, sports, work, kids… oh, and did I mention work and kids?

Oy! (sorry)

I really am grateful, but it’s at times like this that I have the hardest time maintaining some sense of balance, and am least able (it seems) to keep old (i.e. bad) habits from reasserting themselves. Every day, it seems, I have to be even more conscious, more mindful of my tendency to lapse into old, familiar, but ultimately unhealthy (both physically and otherwise) patterns of behavior.

Sometimes it helps to say it out loud (or see it in print). Beyond that, is there really any point to this post? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

