Feast or Famine

Seems I’m not the only one having a hard time coming up with things to write about. I don’t feel so bad about that now, because Brian‘s been at this blogging business a lot longer than I have.

It seems like it’s either feast or famine when it comes to blogging, at least in my (limited) experience. And it isn’t even that there aren’t things worth writing about, so much as a lack of willingness to write about them. The BP oil spill in the Gulf? What could I possibly say of any value that would change anything? I am not enough of a student of history or politics to comment knowledgeably about the death of West Virginia Senator Robert Byrd, though I have read and admired some of his speeches. And, I’m sorry, but I really don’t care to relive Michael Jackson‘s death nor to sit through hours and hours of unceasing televised horn-blowing punctuated by the occasional soccer game, let alone comment on them (though I guess I just did).

It’s kind of a creeping “why bother?”-ism. It reminds me of a point I reached with taking pictures at family events. For years I was the family photographer. It was my job to “capture the moment.” Not actually experience it, but capture it so it could be relived, presumably at some point far in the future. As time went on I found it more and more frustrating to be experiencing things only from behind a viewfinder – an exaggeration, granted, but not a complete fabrication. So I stopped taking pictures at birthday parties, anniversary parties, holiday parties of every shape and kind – oh, a few here and there, but not enough to completely document the event.

In the case of my blog, maybe the same thing is happening. I’m too busy actually living to comment on it.

Leave a Reply

