Because It’s There

Last year I attended the ICMA annual conference in Montreal. On my way I stopped at the Vermont visitor information center (and rest area, of course) on I-93 just over the border from New Hampshire. The old guy staffing the place was friendly, chatty even (for a Vermonter), and pointed out the Green Mountain Coffee Roasters coffee. As it was almost the end of the day, he said it was complimentary because he’d just end up dumping it anyway.

After driving to and from Montreal last year I resolved to ride Route 302 through the White Mountain National Forest. With the weather turning colder and winter not so far away, and my wife and our youngest in southern New Hampshire for softball for the day, I decided to take advantage of today’s sunshine and mid-fifties temperatures to get in at least one long ride before the season comes to a close.

The bike hasn’t been running well since sitting over last winter with E10 slowly evaporating in each of its four teeny-tiny carburetors. Sea Foam seemed to work for a while. Then, a few weeks ago, in the middle of another Sunday afternoon ride the thing started acting up again. Something seemed to break loose, gumming up jets, floats, or something in the fuel delivery system. It’s been hesitating, running rough, not wanting to idle smoothly, just all around not a whole lot of fun. Starting off, and under part throttle it’s really pathetic. At speed and under load, particularly hard acceleration, things seem to smooth out and the bike has the F-14 on afterburner acceleration I remember. Since Sea Foam seems not to have done anything this time around I have given Star Tron a try. For all I know, all Sea Foam and Star Tron (and the legion of other fuel additives that claim to clean carburetors and fuel injection systems) are good at is separating you from your money. But the Sea Foam seemed to work earlier this year. I’m still on my first bottle of Star Tron and will let you know how it goes.

As for today, from here to Waterford, Vermont and back, 290 miles, through the White Mountain National Forest, past the Mount Washington Hotel and Josiah Bartlett School, coffee and cookies at the Vermont I-93 visitor center, the Franconia Notch Parkway and Kancamagus Highway, six hours and fifteen minutes, and 43.7 miles per gallon later. Not a bad day.

3 thoughts on “Because It’s There

  1. The bike has sat for a week with Star Tron in the carbs. Started it up and adjusted idle after warming it up on choke for a couple of minutes. Sounds pretty good – too bad it’s so late in the day, or I’d be tempted to go out for a ride. Maybe tomorrow morning….

  2. Took the bike out yesterday as planned. Not sure if it’s the Star Tron, un-screwing up the idle setting, or what, but the zing is back! Running smoothly, good power, just like I remember. Now I just have to learn to leave the idle setting alone, and unlearn the habits I got into when I had to cajole it into running at all. (Sigh.)

  3. Pingback: July 1, 2011 « Rummaging About

Leave a Reply

